Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Columbus Crew Win the MLS Cup 2008

(click on image for information)
On Sunday, November 23, 2008 at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California, the Columbus Crew won the Major League Soccer (MLS) Cup 2008 against the New York Red Bulls with a score of 3-1. The Crew of Columbus, Ohio was coached by Sigi Schmid. This was the Crew's first ever MLS title. Columbus Crew player, Guillermo Barros Schelotto was named the MLS Cup Most Valuable Player for his MLS Cup record three assists. Schelotto became the third player in MLS history to win both league MVP honors and the MLS Cup Final MVP, joining Tony Meola (2000) and Carlos Ruiz (2002).

Scoring Summary:
CLB -- Alejandro Moreno 1 (Guillermo Barros Schelotto 4) 31
NY -- John Wolyniec 2 (Dane Richards 2) 51
CLB -- Chad Marshall 2 (Guillermo Barros Schelotto 5) 53
CLB -- Frankie Hejduk 1 (Guillermo Barros Schelotto 6, Eddie Gaven 1) 82

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Peter Eastgate Wins the 2008 World Series of Poker Main Event

(click on image for more information)
On Tuesday, November 11, 2008 in Las Vegas, Nevada at the Penn and Teller Theater in the Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino, Peter Eastgate won the 2008 World Series of Poker Main Event against Ivan Demidov. Danish poker player, Eastgate became the youngest player to win the WSOP Main Event at the age of 22-years-old. The previous youngest WSOP Main Event champion was Phil Hellmuth at 24-years-old. Eastgate won first place against 6,844 entrants ($10,000 buy-in). The final 9 players of the WSOP Main Event known as “The November Nine” played for a share of over $32 million on November 11, 2008.

List of WSOP Main Event Winners:
1st – Peter Eastgate - $9,152,416
2nd – Ivan Demidov - $5,809,595
3rd – Dennis Phillips - $4,517,773
4th – Yion Schwartz - $3,774,974
5th – Scott Montgomery - $3,096,768
6th – Darus Suharto - $2,418,562
7th – David “Chino” Rheem - $1,772,650
8th – Kelly Kim - $1,288,217
9th – Craig Marquis - $900,670