Wednesday, July 16, 2008

American League Wins MLB 2008 All-Star Game 4-3

(click on image for more information)
On Tuesday, July 15, 2008 at Yankee Stadium, Bronx, New York, the American League (AL) won the MLB 2008 All-Star game 4-3 versus the National League (NL). Minnesota Twins Justin Morneau scored the game winning run from third base on a sacrifice fly. The 79th MLB All-Star game was the longest All-Star game in MLB history. It lasted 15 innings. At 4 hours and 50 minutes, it was the longer than the previous longest All-Star game in 1967 by an hour and equaled the previous high of 15 innings. The 2 teams combined for 27 hits (14 by the AL, 13 by the NL) and left an All-Star record 28 runners on base.
The American League extends its unbeaten All-Star streak to a record 12 games. This victory secures the American League’s home-field advantage in the World Series, the sixth consecutive year since MLB began using the All-Star game to decide the World Series’ home-field advantage.
Boston Red Sox right fielder, J.D. Drew was named the All-Star Game MVP. Drew homered, reached base 4 times and made a catch at the wall to win the MVP award.
This was the fourth and final time that the All-Star game was hosted by Yankee Stadium: 1939, 1960, 1977, 2008. The game was played in front of a sellout crowd of 55,632 baseball fans.

No comments: